05
Aug
08

Guitar Hero – Aerosmith – First Impressions

PETA <3 Aerosmith <3 Elephant

PETA❤ Aerosmith❤ Elephant

I’m no big Aerosmith fan. I mean I’ve liked a few of their songs on and off and I can recognise their voices. But that’s as good as it gets. Yet, when Guitar Hero Aerosmith landed at my doorstep (or rather me going to get it to bring it to my doorstep), I thought I’d give it a try.

I don’t need to explain why this is a first impression, since it’s fairly obvious that we in the Middle East get things later than most people in most of the other parts of the world (except Africa and Australia).

Anyhoo,

contrary to popular belief, the game is not all about Aerosmith. It also has covers of other artists, and basically you are a guitarist in one of these bands and you just so happen to be playing at events where Aerosmith have also played. And then you get a pop-up after 2 songs, asking you whether you want Aerosmith to come on stage, and so they do (I haven’t opted for a NOTHANKYOU yet).

the COOL BIT

the COOL BIT

The cool bit is that aside from just the cartoonish look and feel, similar to Guitar Hero III; the game also has actual footage of Aerosmith artists. In fact, that is what carries out the whole trip into the rock and roll life of Aerosmith’s Discography; their first gig, their first sign up and what not; with Aerosmith themselves describing what it was like. On the other hand, Activision helps us understand Steven Tyler’s English through subtitles.

FAT LIPS SON! I gots them from Angelina Jolie's behinds

FAT LIPS SON! I gots them from Angelina Jolie's behinds

I’ve been playing ‘easy’, and I’ve been finding it likewise. After 3 sets (5 songs each) I’ve only managed to score a 4 star once, whereas all the rest have been 5 stars. The songs are alright, but since I’m not much of a fan I wouldn’t relate to many of these; aside from the fact that these first few are from the 70’s and I was with God at that time, learning magic.

I love how Activision is totally milking this cow and there have been no changes to the characters (like Axel, Xavier, Rock Girl etc; are all in and in the same order) with only slight tweaks to the guitars you can buy from the vault. Where all the excessive money’s gone then, is probably in the franchising of Aerosmith.

the (un)/holy combination

the Un/Holy combination

Even then though, one can’t brush off the feeling of who actually needed this? Did Aerosmith need a piggy back from Guitar Hero, or is it the other way round? We can only wonder…😉


10 Responses to “Guitar Hero – Aerosmith – First Impressions”


  1. 1 alfonso
    October 24, 2008 at 6:13 am

    que chidos eeeeeeeeeeeee tu tambie n joe perry

  2. November 17, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    hesto sta re roso gente

  3. 3 hopestories
    November 22, 2008 at 8:11 am

    I personally think that Aerosmith is awesome, But if you don’t then that is your choice. I`m not really a person who judges people. Your blog is more set up than mine. Do you have a editor, or are you just good in English? Also random pictures! They are awesome. Now that i take a look at your blog it makes me feel like mine sucks, i don’t do the picture stuff, or the celebrity stuff. I just type about my days at school, and with family. Sometimes i will do a special thing for holidays. Wow i really got off subject, didn’t i? I`m sorry i tend to just go on and on like that . . . i do hope that you like the rock genre in music – It ROCKS – really -:)

  4. 4 th
    November 22, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Hey hopestories,

    thanks for peeking in here🙂 The author of this post is….eccentric :p But he loves rock, not more than trance though😉

    And yes, randomness is his specialty!

  5. November 30, 2008 at 12:34 am

    love aerosmith my j’ai guitar hero aerosmith

  6. January 29, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    todos son malparidos ignorantes y desequilibrados degenerados perros desgraciados

  7. 7 Miranda
    January 3, 2010 at 6:38 am

    I love Aerosmith! they are the bestest band alive! And steven tyler is the best singer alive! jeo perry best guitar player tom hamilton best bass player brad whitford other best guitar player. and jeoy krammer thest best drummer. i recently play drums,guitar and sing. You all insired me to play! so thanks!🙂🙂 I love you all! And im a HUGE aerosmith fan!🙂🙂 keep on rocking@

  8. 8 diana
    April 10, 2010 at 1:00 am

    ouai j’adore se groupe il est genial !!!

  9. June 20, 2014 at 5:47 am

    Adiphene will deal with your weight loss in 5 other
    ways , which means you’re going to lose extra weight, and you’re going to lose it much sooner than you’ll with dieting and exercise alone.
    Adiphene is produced in an FDA accredited lab
    and are convinced by a extra pharmaceutical approach. The thermogenic and stimulants from Adiphene will help
    your body to burn the energy which are consumed throughout meals.


Leave a Reply

