24
Aug
08

Armin Van Buuren – Imagine review

OceansLab’s debut album showed us that a trance album doesn’t need to have 140bpm non-trance tracks to be brilliant. And Armin’s Imagine certainly goes down a somewhat similar path.

You might be wondering why I’m reviewing an album that was released in May, when we have already reviewed a newer trance album. Well, technically speaking, most of the songs on Sirens Of The Sea were already released and remixed exhaustively since last year. Compared to that, the first time we actually heard tracks from Imagine was April onwards. So my review is of a new(er) album. Sorry, just had to get that out of the way first.

You use to light up the dark
With your unrelenting spark
It always put a fire in me

[Unforgiveable]

Onto the album itself, if I were to describe it in a few words, I’d say that Imagine is a brilliant template of tracks begging to be remixed. See, unlike Sirens Of The Sea, many of the tracks in Imagine aren’t as self contained as say, ‘On The Beach’ or ‘Breaking Ties’. However, I don’t mean to insinuate that any track on Imagine feels incomplete in any way.

Lets put it this way, that at the end of a tiring day, or on a long drive, I could listen to Sirens Of The Sea and feel relaxed; whereas listening to Imagine, I’ll always end up thinking how cool the Aly & Fila dub of ‘If You Should Go’ was.

See the mirror in your eyes
Hide the truth behind your lies
Your lies are haunting me

[In And Out Of Love]

This brings me to the final point of the album, the remixes. Throughout the many episodes of A State Of Trance that have aired since Imagine’s release, there have been some insanely kickass mixes of some of the tracks. Of these, ‘In And Out Of Love – Blizzard remix’ (ASOT ep 355) and ‘Going Wrong – Alex M.O.R.P.H. B2B Woody van Eyden remix’ (ASOT ep 354) bear special mention.

In the end, I’ll say that Armin produced these tracks to reach a greater height than where they currently stand. In essence then, Imagine is what it is. Armin has given people a dream, and how they re-imagine these tracks to mould them into vivid reality is how the legacy of this album will live on.

and I will live today
and I will live tomorrow
no matter what is said or done

[Going Wrong]


2 Responses to “Armin Van Buuren – Imagine review”


  1. 1 WhiZz
    September 1, 2008 at 1:55 am

    the use of the guitars in Going Wrong was my pick.. Magical Stuff!

  2. 2 seansever
    January 11, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Got hold of this DVD only a month ago, I am yet to study his mixes in depth as well as listen out for his productions and change in direction he had planned for the Imagine tour. Good review, I will add mine to my personal blog when done.


Leave a Reply

