22
Dec
08

Burn the critics!

critics-sub

This post is in response to what Impz wrote on “what makes an anime critic”  after lol’ing with JPmeyer and having discussions in a Tea Shop about ANN’s hating. I’m talking here not just about anime critics, but all the critics of modern entertainment in general.

Critics, I hate them. People who are paid for opinions that no one will ever fully agree with. What is the point then, in flaunting your “knowledgeable” authority and analysis on a subject when all it eventually boils down to is your own (the critic’s) point of view?

It is simply not possible for someone to be objective anymore. That word inherently is complete bullshit when it comes to humans. Unless an alien is reviewing something, no opinion is objective. That, or you have no heart. Which therefore means you are Keanu Reeves. And you will suck.

Take for example the Giant Bomb’s review of MK vs DC. They are the only one in the entire universe who gave this (mediocre at best) game a perfect score. That “review” from Jeff was his own opinion. A fan of Mortal Combat who appreciated the gameplay and the crossover, and more than anything, thoroughly enjoyed it. Thus the 10/10. Btw, I hate the game, but that’s not the point.


My point is, these so called “critics” need stop the farce of being objective. Just give out your opinion. That’s all what it really is. If I want to buy a new game or watch a new anime, I ask around for what other people think. Based on their views and and my own anticipation for that title I will go ahead and buy it, or not, as the case maybe.

And isn’t that what we all really do at the end of the day? Hear what others have to say about the goods/ services we’re interested in, then come up with an informed decision of our own of whether we will spend time and money on it?

So fuck critics.

So fuck critics.


7 Responses to “Burn the critics!”


  1. December 22, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    As far as ANN is concerned, I believe they’ve actually made what you say about objectivity an excuse whenever one of their guys posts a sankakutastic review.

  2. 2 nckl
    December 22, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    > My point is, these so called “critics”
    > need stop the *farce* of being objective.

    I completely agree. All this stuff about objectivity in reviews is complete and utter bullshit. I’d prefer reviewers to state from the get go that the thing they’re reviewing is or isn’t something they usually enjoy watching, and then go from there. That way, we at least know where they stand.

    Opinion is one thing, but trying to make people believe it’s unbiased is insulting.

  3. December 23, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Hmm, this is an interesting topic for me, not because I have any idea what kind of drama’s going on, but just because I write a lot of reviews. I fight with myself a lot when writing because I want to be as objective as possible — I want to consider all sides of everything and assess my own opinions while acknowledging the other side. The nature of reviews is to give your opinion, definitely, but I do think it’s important to take into account everything else. I suppose I agree that people shouldn’t try to hide the fact that they are, in fact, merely giving opinions, but I don’t think it’s wrong to strive for some kind of “objectivity” even though it isn’t in a pure sense of the word, y’know?

  4. 4 drilldon
    December 23, 2008 at 5:15 am

    but isnt that the whole point? reading a review of a person who knows alot about one subject be it games anime or even places to eat and the more experance they have the better the view.

    Now not that im saying they are always right, http://myanimelist.net/showreview.php?id=10458 review my favorite anime scryed, now I know its not the best out there but I really enjoyed it and still watch it now and again.

  5. 5 Kairu Ishimaru
    December 23, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Tsk tsk.. critics. ;__; BURN THEM!!! FFFFFFFFFF

  6. 6 th
    December 24, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I’m glad the general consensus here is to have a critical view of what “critics” are saying. Also, knowing where the critic is coming from helps us understand why they made the points they did, be it good or bad. However, unless one has a good knowledge about the reviewer themselves, their character so to speak, we will never get an objective opinion out of a critic’s review.

    Therefore, we need change. Like what I discussed in the followup. Just have a broader perspective on things you like and how others perceive them.


Leave a Reply

