06
Jan
09

Fake nostalgia

animepaperwallpapers_cowboy-bebop_thebryman16_1920x1200_59866

So I was listening to Cowboy Bebop’s OST last night…

…and remembering all the good times back in ’98. Being 13 years old, I was still in 8th grade back then.

The first thing that comes to mind is Armageddon which was the shit, what with all the rockets flying to a fucking comet headed towards earth! Oh man that was epic. But not as epic as Saving Private Ryan. I still remember the day I first saw the Omaha beach landing. God damn what a fine piece of work by Spielberg! Since then pretty much everything he’s directed seems like he’s trying too hard and the results are mediocre at best. Also, by the time Bebop was ending, The Matrix came out as well. Oh the kickassery of it all!

That was also the year I got back into the gaming scene, after being absent from it since the late 80’s. And I got back with Duke Nukem 3d and Half-Life.  Damn, could it have gotten any better than that? Well, yes it did indeed. It all started when earlier that year Titanic came out. Wow, just wow at Kate Winslet’s boobies! Oh and lest I forget, summer of that year was when I met SZ for the first time. We’ve been close friends since then. And I’m greatful whenever he manages to find time from his honest-to-God busy schedule and write something for our little blog 😉

Back to Bebop’s OST, just listen to Space Lion and you can’t tell me it doesn’t make your heart all warm and fuzzy, nostalgic of the years gone by.

You wanna know what really reminds me of the wackiness of ’98? Chicken Bone.

However, all of this stuff came on later, for the very first song that we saw which will always be stuck in our heads is Tank!

That opening completely symbolises the anime in it’s entirety. The funk, the cool, the funny with an undertone of refined maturity; that is Cowboy Bebop.

So by now you’re all probably wondering what the hell does my topic has to do with what all I just said. See the thing is, I saw Bebop (and thus enjoyed the OST) for the first time in 2005.

And the real kicker is that I had just started watching anime in 2004. So where did all the sense of nostalgia come from? I wasn’t even aware of Cowboy Bebop’s existence back in ’98. So what’s really going on here? Is it that Kanno’s music is so evocative that I’m automatically transported back into the old days? Perhaps. But I still fail to see why my memories go to that specific time period when I have absolutely no logical connection with the anime and that year. Shit, even the anime was set in the future (2071 to be exact).

Every time I listen to Bebop’s OST, I always think about ’98 and never about ’05. Why? I don’t know. Does this kind of stuff happens to you guys as well, or am I alone?

Whatever the case, music is something that transcends any form of physical boundaries. You don’t need to be able to understand a specific language, be in a certain place or be of a specific race to enjoy music, it’s an emotional thing.

And so is this epic song The Real Folk Blues.

Like many of you, I highly revere this jazz extravaganza, which no anime to date has surpassed. Personally though, this would be Yoko Kanno’s second best score as I prefer the cyber punk of GitS more.

0 Responses to “Fake nostalgia”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

