18
Jan
09

So I got a Macro…

dsc01710

…lens.

Since buying my camera I never really felt the need to get a new lens. I was happy with the kit lens (18mm – 70mm f/3.5) that came with my Sony Alpha 200 dslr. A basic camera with a basic setup, good enough for my initial needs as I just upgraded from a camera phone point and shoot.

dsc01807

I remember my first ever shot was the Creator’s Labo Rei Ayanami. It looked gorgeous, and HDR was just pure eye candy. Over time though, I felt like I needed something more…not better or bigger…just more.

dsc01810

Now the kit lens serves me fine for normal photography but I didn’t get some shots like I wanted to. Not much bokeh (blurry effect in the background) on the f/3.5 kit lens, so I needed a higher aperture for sure. I considered getting a ‘prime lens’ first (standard 50mm). An f/1.4 aperture would mean beautiful bokeh and great night shots (aperture is big enough to let in more light). Even portrait shots would look great due to the shallow depth of field since the background of the subject is all out of focus, so the viewer pays more attention to the subject.

dsc01820

However, the prime lens would not have given me the in-your-face big macro shots that I wanted, not to mention the sharpness. Secondly, the macro lens would suffice for good portrait shots as well.

dsc01824

I’m not really into landscape shots that much, so for the time being I don’t feel the need for a wide-angle or telephoto lens as the standard kit lens serves me just fine. So after much asking around, I was advised by friends to get a Macro lens. I got the Sigma 105mm f/2.8  EX DG Macro lens. Also a UV filter (by Sigma) to keep the lens dust-free.

dsc017551

Funny thing is, that the Cloud Strife and Hardy-Daytona figure was the catalyst for me to get this lens, yet I didn’t feel like taking Macro shots of it. Cloud doesn’t need that much attention and the bike is the star attraction imo.

dsc01776

So anyways I started experimenting a bit and took some macro shots of figures I’ve already featured. While this proved to be extremely satisfying, portrait shots were not so great. Thing is, this lens is so damn sharp, that on adults, each and every wrinkle, skin marks, pores, etc. stand out. The backgrounds are nicely blurred, but the subject matter itself doesn’t look good…at all! That said, kids would be wonderful subjects due to their smooth skin. I haven’t had a chance to snap portrait shots of kids myself, but Flickr results prove my theory correct.

dsc01814

Don’t be fooled by these shots thinking this was easy. Using a macro lens forced me to use my camera in full Manual mode which was a good side effect, but manual focusing with the lens is a bitch! There’s absolutely no way for me to get the shots just the way I want with the Auto-focus. Often times the AF would focus the hair or some other part of the figure when all I really wanted was the focus on their eyes. Patience in macro photography is definitely a virtue, with sweet results!

dsc01816

All things considered, I’m glad I purchased the lens (for AED 1,450/ USD 395) and discovering new ways of photography. The level of detail in a full resolution picture is insane (I have cropped all images to 50% ). Next up, the 50mm Prime lens!

dsc01827

PS: in some pics you will see the dust problem I keep on crying about. Shots were taken just after dusting my entire room!


16 Responses to “So I got a Macro…”


  1. 1 MJ
    January 18, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Nice Cloud Strife Figure!!

  2. January 24, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    i know, macro lens rock

    i have a minolta 35-70 mm with macro, and a 50mm prime lens

    • 3 th
      January 24, 2009 at 11:08 pm

      The 50mm Prime is a sweet lens. I tried looking for the Minolta lens but couldn’t find any in the market. The hunt continues.

      A friend of mine recently got a Canon 5D Mark II. Jeezus that thing is amazing! Night shots (hand held) are totally insane!

      But too expensive for e :p

  3. January 28, 2009 at 3:17 am

    haha, my friend got the Nikon D90

    dude, the HD video in it is brilliant. the cameras kit lens is 18-105.

    I am thinking of selling my kit lens, and macro lens, and buying a 18-200mm lens with macro setting on it, but thing is, ITS bloody expensive

    also, TIP, before buying any lens, check it out on http://www.dyxum.com

  4. January 30, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    and i also just purchased a minolta 35-105 lens for 49 dollars😀

  5. July 17, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    I saw firsthand who was making money and who wasn’t, what worked and
    what didn’t, what people wanted that wasn’t available
    and what was to easy to find but wasn’t wanted. If you find it’s
    difficult for you to install by yourself, you can hired a professional to install these
    Sprinkler systems for you quickly and easily.
    Consequently, individuals have two choices: They can bite the bullet and pay whatever it takes to get their front yard up to snuff,
    or they can see if they can do some or all of the work themselves.

  6. July 22, 2014 at 6:07 am

    The first of them is the Tutorial mode, in which you’ll be
    taught all the basic commands shared by the game’s cast
    of characters. Animation economy will no doubt become the next
    China’s economic development a strong pillar. In these times it
    was more necessary to have a partnership to survive. The player on Crunchyroll isn’t ideal for
    repeating dialogue multiple times, but it doesn’t entirely suck either.

    The reason why it’s here is because the game play is fresh and innovative.

  7. July 22, 2014 at 8:08 am

    You need to finish this mode with each character to unlock additional costumes for
    the characters, some images for the art gallery, and the character’s models to view them in the model viewer.
    Animation economy will no doubt become the next China’s economic
    development a strong pillar. Cosplay costume is centered on the best dress, accessories and make-up which can help you in exactly resembling the character that you
    would like to imitate. In fact, many women have been dreaming about
    their impending nuptials since they were young children. It was a role
    that Monica kept harping she was unqualified to perform.

  8. July 23, 2014 at 4:51 am

    Rinse the stain under cool running water to remove the turpentine
    residue. This piece of writing will provide you some relevant information and useful facts that you need to know about the natural
    hair dye for gray hair. After that, if you can shampoo every other day
    instead of every day, that will preserve your new color better.

    All you need to do is pick up some hair bleach and mix a small amount of it with shampoo.

    Can wire Ying moderate hair cream market in March 2008 grand L’Oreal Paris Labs Innovation.

  9. July 25, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    The Cappuccino Cup – Serving a cappuccino in a porcelain cup, which is the tradition helps retain the heat.

    There are also a number of natural liver supplements like Chai Hu Shu Gan Wan, which can assist
    your livers functionality. It boosts the health benefits of other ingredients in your chai.

  10. July 27, 2014 at 11:52 am

    Do you have any video of that? I’d like to find out more
    details.

  11. September 17, 2014 at 7:58 am

    Howdy! Someone in mmy Myspace group shared this site with
    us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the
    information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to mmy followers!
    Fantastic blog and brilliant style and design.

  12. September 22, 2014 at 9:29 am

    certainly like your website howrver you nred to test the spelling on several of your posts.
    Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very bothersome to
    inform the reality on the other hand I will surely come back again.

  13. January 26, 2015 at 9:10 am

    What’s up, everything is going fine here and ofcourse every
    one is sharing facts, that’s really good, keep up writing.


Leave a Reply

