10
May
14

Adventures in Japan – The Promised Land deculture!

DSC00717

After nearly four years of silence, I think it’s time to kick start deculture again!

For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to visit Japan. This is not a feeling that manifested when I started watching anime, though. There’s just something about that place that clicks.

And even if you’re not an anime or gaming fan, as someone who wants to experience an extremely rich culture, or just someone who wants good old fashioned adventure, the Land of the Rising Sun is one of the best places to go.

I remember back in 2008 I’d made some plans with a couple of friends to visit Tokyo. Everything was worked out: which flight to take, where to stay, how to travel (almost memorized the major Tokyo underground stations), what places to visit and how much money to blow away on goodies. Obviously, fate had different things in mind.

Some of these friends were married, and that bore them some fruit(s). Later on (as you all know) I got married. And since then, one by one the group started stretching apart. Some went abroad to study, others still got married, until everybody just got too busy with their lives. Our promised trip to Japan never came to be.

And yet I always held hope deep within, someday I’ll visit the promised land…

So obviously that’s where we decide to go for our honeymoon!

Since this was a huge trip, I’ve broken the post in 4 or 5 parts (not sure yet), in order not to create an insane wall of text. I’ll be updating deculture with each part every few days. Photos will obviously follow, no more silly images. Well, I can’t promise on the last bit😉


0 Responses to “Adventures in Japan – The Promised Land deculture!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

