20
Jan
10

So I got the FF XIII Lightning Edition PS3

Just wow!

Three years ago I got the original PS3, Japanese version, on my birthday. Paid AED 2,400 ($654) for it back then! I was so broke after buying it that I got Virtua Fighter 5 and Ridge Racer 7 second hand.

Over time I purchased maybe a dozen games for the system. I prefer most of my multiplatform games on the X360 as most of my friends are on Live, and chatting in a party, even if all of us are playing something different, is very cool. Almost all of my games on the PS3 have been exclusives such as MGS4, LBP, Uncharted etc.

Sony undoubtedly had a rocky start with the PS3, what with no online voice chat support, a very slow PSN service and not good enough first party exclusives. Of course, cross game voice chat is something we’re all still waiting for, but games like WarHawk really made the PSN an equally sociable place to play, especially considering that it’s free.

Oh yeah, and the built in Wi-Fi helped out a lot too. Not too shabby for a sub-$600 console! Heck, the thing weighed and looked worth the price as well!

Right around mid 2007 I pretty much stopped playing on it altogether. Halo 3 and Mass Effect were just too much to even contemplate spending my time on the PS3. While I got Team Fortress 2 on the PC eventually, a better part of the rest of that year and half way through 2008 I played TF2 on the X360 on an almost daily basis.

While I did play the shit out of MGS4 and DMC4 (will always remain a PlayStation series for me), the PS3 was left untouched for the rest of the time. Yes, I’ve had 2 RRODs, but my friends played the X360, so I stuck with that. Certainly the PS3 is a much sturdier machine of the two, partly because my runtime on it didn’t even rack up to a 4th of what I have on the X360!

So instead of letting it gather more dust (thank you black glossy surface!) I thought it was time to move onto bigger smaller and better things. There’s a lot of stuff out on the PS3 that’s too good to ignore, Uncharted 2 for instance. Heavy Rain and FF XIII are on the horizon, with Yakuza 3 and God of War III creeping up behind them. I dare not touch Demon’s Souls.

I wanted the FF XIII Lightning edition PS3 the moment it was unveiled at last year’s TGS. The money, in my opinion is well worth it (AED 2,500/ $680) if you consider shipping costs and custom charges to Dubai. And even though the 250GB HDD is ample enough, I feel that an MLC/SLC SDD will do wonders for the system, once I can afford it, coz just like 3 years ago, I’m broke again.

3 Responses to “So I got the FF XIII Lightning Edition PS3”


  1. December 11, 2016 at 11:36 am

    This is the perfect blog for anyone who wishes to
    find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its almost tough to
    argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic that’s been discussed
    for decades. Wonderful stuff, just excellent!


Leave a Reply

