19
Oct
08

So I got a DSLR…

…and this was the first pic taken.

I got a Sony Alpha 200 with standard kit lens. My primary reason for not going with a Canon 450D was that it cost almost twice as much as the Alpha 200. And being a n00b in DSLR photography, I needed a cheap entry point with a reliable and user friendly camera. The reviews were certainly favourable.

I started experimenting by taking pics of the first figure I bought: the Yamato Creators Labo #015 Rei Ayanami.

I took some more pics but most of them were crap as I was still experimenting with various exposures, ISO and shutter speed settings.

This is probably the best and simplest pic I took.

This is probably the best and simplest pic I took.

And thanks to Google and Camera Labs, I was able to get my very first…

...HDR pic.

...HDR pic.

Not the best lighting conditions for and effective HDR, but I was just trying things out. The above linked tutorials are so damn easy, I took the 3 required pics, copied them to my pc, and tweaked them in Photomatix in under 7 minutes to get the above HDR!

Expect picture articles of both my figure collection and Dubai comming very soon.

Update: I “acquired” the pro version. Here’s a slightly more touched up version sans the Photomatix watermark. And forgot to mention this, but all pix were reduced to 50% of their original sizes.


9 Responses to “So I got a DSLR…”


  1. 1 Bluestar
    October 23, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Those are some sweet shots. Did you ever consider those new Canon Rebel DSLRs?

  2. 2 th
    October 23, 2008 at 9:30 am

    The Canon EOS 450D I mentioned above is what we call the Canon Rebel XSi in this region. In all the reviews for the Alpha 200, I have read (and seen pictorial evidence) that the A200 is better in low ISOs compared to the Rebel XTi. Also colour reproduction is richer. Being cheaper than XTi/ XS/ XSi the A200 was good enough for me.

    I know that Canon has an insane library of lenses to choose from, but the Sony can use Sigma lenses as well, which are a more affordable option to the original Sony lenses. So I was covered there. Also, like I mentioned earlier, I needed a user friendly capable DSLR. And the Sony satisfies all that.

    I’m gonna try out new stuff over the weekend, so look forward to it🙂

  3. October 23, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    haha, congratu-fucking-lations

    even i purchased that camera 2 weeks ago,

    dude, 450 D and a200 arent even in the same league, the rebel Xs is in the a200 league

    and yeah, even i am starting dslr, best start at a normal one, learn to take photos and get used to the lens, and then u upgrade

    i am purchasing a secondary lens, a tamrom 75-300mm with macro switch😀

    congratz again dude

  4. 4 th
    October 23, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    You got the a200 too? LOL nice! I was thinking of getting a 150mm Sigma macro lens for AED 1,500 (USD 400) for my figures, but I’m gonna try my hand on the kit lens first. Learn some basic techniques and then move forward with the lenses.

    Btw, I was comparing the a200 to the 400D, I know the 450D pwns any entry level DSLR.

  5. October 28, 2008 at 12:34 am

    well, if your gonna take of figures, make sure u get a lens with a macro switch on it.

    trust me, tht macro switch will give it a higher magnification and unbelievable clear focus

  6. 6 th
    October 28, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Yea, I’m looking into getting a macro lens, 105mm Sigma (not 150mm as I stated above :p)Shit is expensive though.

  7. 7 Habib
    October 30, 2008 at 10:05 am

    DUDE, your so right, i cancelled my 70-300,

    and m gonna get a minolta MAXXUM 50mm f1.8

    DUDE, i tried a nikon f1.8 lens, dude, the sharpness is epic

    and yeah, get a fixed macro, and ebay it,
    mnuch cheaper


Leave a Reply

